The wider Support team - Diabetes Research 

The Diabetes Research Team


Diabetes Research at the University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust constitutes a multi-disciplinary team of consultants, research registrars, research nurse fellow, research nurses, research associates, assistants and administration staff and is now located at the new Leicester Diabetes Centre in the Leicester General Hospital.

The centre has expanded to hold the University of Leicester Research team and the BRU team.


The team carries out academic and commercial studies in all areas of diabetes to include:



Professor Melanie Davies is the Professor of Diabetes Medicine Principal Investigator- Co director of SEMDRN, Deputy Director CLAHRC


The Team


Jayne Hill - Ethics and Regulatory Affairs Coordinator
Dr Mary Quinn - Associate Specialist
Janet Jarvis - Nurse Research Fellow
Janet Jones - Diabetes Research Officer
Laura Gray - Research Associate in Medical Statistics


The South East Midlands Diabetes Research Network Team SEM DRN 

Prof Kamlesh Khunti - Co-Director

Sue Enright - Senior Network Manager
Jo Howe - Clinical Research Unit Manager
Jayne Hill - Research Governance Manager
Harpal Ghattoraya - Industry & Network Liason Manager
Stephanie Goldby - Primary Care Lead
Claire Studd & Michelle Izzard - Patient and Public Involvement Lead
Alison Caputo - Diabetes Network Secretary
Lesley Bryan - Senior Research Assistant
Helen Bray - Research Nurse
Penelope Donley - Diabetes Research Nurse 
Sam Essat - Research Nurse
Jackie Wayte - Research Nurse
Lesley Meakin - Hospital Practitioner 
Jane Brela- Senior Research Assistant (MEMO)


The Addition Study Team

Fiona Ablett - Senior Health Care Assistant
Janette Barnett - Diabetes Specialist Nurse
Dr Samiul Mostofa - Clinical Research Fellow
Dr David Webb - Diabetes Research Registrar




Heather Daly - Nurse Consultant
Stephen Hiles - Diabetes Research Associate
Lorraine Martin-Stacey - Senior Research Associate
Jacqui Troughton - Advanced Diabetes Practitioner
Dr Emma Wilmott - Diabetes Research Registrar


The Let's Prevent Team


Stephanie Goldby - Project Lead
Rachel Plummer - Lead Research Nurse
Frances Pullen - Research Nurse
Carolyn Currie - Research Nurse
Sheila Porter - Research Health Care Assistant
Sian Williams - Research Associate
Pramodini (Mo) Radia - Administration Assistant
Carolyn Johnson - Administration Assistant
Paul Bray - Administration Assistant

Contact: Let’s Prevent Team 0116 258 8303


The Walking Away Team


Dr Phil Shelton - CLAHRC Prevention Theme Manager
Dr Tom Yates - Senior Research Associate/Project Lead
Joe Henson - Research Associate
Colette Divers - Administration Assistant
Martina Sharman - Research Nurse
Amy Crossley - Healthcare Research Assistant

Contact: Walking Away Team: 0116 252 5460
Email us at: 
walking away.Diabetes@uhl-tr.nhs.uk




Dr Marian Carey - National Director
Bernie Stribling- National Programme Manager
Michael Bonar – Creative Director
Alison Harding – National Operations Coordinator
Beverly Humphreys - National Desmond Administrator
Helen Dallosso - Research Associate
Panna Mandalia - Research Associate

Hannah Roberts-  PA to Project Manager

Ginny Kilgallen- Bank Research Administrator
Shehnaz Jamal- Website Coordinator


Research: 0116 258 7290

National Programme Team on 0116 258 5881

Research Operations Group UHL Education Interventions- The ROUGES Team


Heather Daly - Diabetes Nurse consultant

Lorraine Martin Stacey - DSN

Jacqui Troughton - Advanced Diabetes Practitioner

Janette Barnett - DSN

Anita Khulpateea - DSN

Judith Leonard - DSN

Geri Gray - DSN

Sue Cradock - Senior Research Associate

Cheryl Taylor - Senior Research Associate

Yvonne Doherty - Senior Research Associate

Janet Jarvis - Research Nurse Fellow

Sayjal Amin - Senior Dietitian

Jason Rigby - Education Manager

The BRU Team